Home Faculty of Science at the University of Melbourne
Unit entry

Home | Browse | Search | Previous | Next

Department of Zoology (1920 - )

Faculty of Science
Related EntriesArchival/Heritage ResourcesGallery
Function: Academic Department
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Zoology began as Natural Science under founding Professor Frederick McCoy. In 1887, Walter Baldwin Spencer was appointed Professor of Biology. The Chair of Biology was renamed Zoology following the appointment of Wilfred E. Agar in 1920.

URL: The home page for this entity is located at http://www.zoology.unimelb.edu.au/

1982 -

Chairman of Department and Reader in Ecology: Murray John Littlejohn

1984? -

Chairman of Department and Reader in Ecology: Angus Anderson Martin


The Dept has 30 snr research staff, over 80 graduate & honours students. Research areas - Animal Behaviour & Evolution, Marine Ecology and Physiology, Conservation & Australian Wildlife Biology, Reproduction & Development, Animal Physiology & Nuerobiology

Related Entries for Department of Zoology

Bequests (Scholarships, Fellowships, Lectureships & Prizes)


Heads of Department

Professorial Chairs

Research Centres

Related Units

Top of Page

Structure based on ISAAR(CPF) - click here for an explanation of the fields.Prepared by: Carolyn Rasmussen & Rachel Tropea
Created: 23 August 2001
Modified: 21 November 2001

Published by Australian Science and Technology Heritage Centre on AustehcWeb, October 2001
Comments, questions, corrections and additions: http://www.esrc.unimelb.edu.au/about/inquiries.html#comment
Prepared by: Acknowledgements
Updated: 16 November 2009

[ Top of page | Faculty of Science at the University of Melbourne Home | Browse | Search ]