Page v
Previous/Next Page
Science and the making of VictoriaRoyal Society of Victoria

Title Page
About the Project
Table of Contents


Contact us
Presidents of the Royal Society

1854Captain Andrew Clarke (Philosophical Society)Surveyor General
1854Justice Redmond Barry (Victorian Institute)First Puisne Judge of the Supreme Court of Victoria
1855-1857Captain Andrew Clarke (Philosophical Institute)Surveyor General
1858Sir William Stawell (Philosophical Institute)Chief Justice of Victoria
1859Baron Sir Ferdinand von MuellerGovernment Botanist, Director of Botanic Gardens
1860-1863Sir Henry BarklyGovernor of Victoria
1864Sir Frederick McCoyProfessor of the Natural Sciences, Government Palaeontologist, Director of the National Museum of Victoria
1865Rev. Dr John Ignatius BleasdaleCatholic Priest, Chemist and Mineralogist
1866-1884Robert L.J. ElleryGovernment Astronomer, Director of the Melbourne Observatory
1885-1900William C. KernotFirst Professor of Engineering, University of Melbourne
1901Dr James JamiesonMedical Officer, Melbourne City
1902Edward J. WhiteChief Assistant, Melbourne Observatory
1903John DennantScience Inspector, Education Department
1904Sir Walter Baldwin SpencerProfessor of Biology, University of Melbourne, Director of the Museum
1905George SweetGeologist and Industrialist
1906Edward J. DunnDirector, Geological Survey of Victoria
1907Calder E. OliverEngineer-in-Chief, Melbourne & Metropolitan Board of Works
1908-1909Pietro P.G.E. BaracchiGovernment Astronomer
1910-1911Ernest W. SkeatsProfessor of Geology, University of Melbourne
1912-1913John ShephardMicroscopist and Industrialist
1914-1915Thomas S. HallLecturer in Biology, University of Melbourne
1916-1917William A. OsborneProfessor of Physiology, University of Melbourne
1918-1919James A. KershawDirector of National Museum of Victoria
1920-1921Alfred J. EwartProfessor of Botany, University of Melbourne and Government Botanist
1922-1923Frank WisewouldSolicitor
1924Thomas H. LabyProfessor of Natural Philosophy, University of Melbourne
1925-1926Joseph M. BaldwinGovernment Astronomer
1927-1928Wilfred E. AgarProfessor of Zoology, University of Melbourne
1929-1930Frederick ChapmanCommonwealth Palaeontologist
1931-1932Herbert S. SummersAssociate Professor of Geology, University of Melbourne
1933-1934William J. YoungAssociate Professor of Biochemistry, University of Melbourne
1935-1936Norman A. EssermanOfficer-in-Charge, National Standards Laboratory, CSIRO
1937-1938Samuel M. WadhamProfessor of Agriculture, University of Melbourne
1939-1940Daniel J. MahonyDirector of the National Museum of Victoria
1941-1942Reuben T. PattonLecturer, Botany Department, University of Melbourne
1943-1944William BaragwanathDirector, Geological Survey of Victoria
1945-1946John K. DavisAntarctic Explorer, Commonwealth Director of Navigation
1947-1948Dermot A. CaseyAnthropologist
1949-1950Phillip Crosbie MorrisonNatural History Writer and Broadcaster
1951-1952John S. TurnerProfessor of Botany, University of Melbourne
1953-1954Frank L. StillwellGeologist
1955-1956Edwin S. HillsProfessor of Geology, University of Melbourne
1957-1958Valentine G. AndersonConsulting Chemist
1959-1960Geoffrey W. LeeperAssociate Professor in Agricultural Chemistry, University of Melbourne
1961-1962Richard R. GarranSenior Executive, Imperial Chemical Industries
1963-1964Richard T.M. PescottDirector of the National Museum of Victoria, Director of Royal Botanic Gardens and Government Botanist of Victoria
1965-1966John H. ChinnerReader-in-Charge of Forestry, University of Melbourne
1967-1968Phillip G. LawDirector of Antarctic Division, Vice-President of Victoria Institute of Colleges
1969-1970Edmund D. GillPalaeontologist, Deputy Director of the National Museum of Victoria
1971-1972Alfred Dunbavin ButcherDirector of Fisheries and Wildlife, Chairman of the Zoological Board of Victoria
1973-1974Sir Robert R. BlackwoodIndustrialist, Chancellor of Monash University
1975-1976James D. MorrisonProfessor of Physical Chemistry, La Trobe University
1977-1978John F. LoveringProfessor of Geology, University of Melbourne
1979-1980Lionel L. StubbsProfessor of Plant Pathology, University of Melbourne
1980-1982Gordon D. AitchisonChief, Division of Applied Geomechanics, CSIRO
1983-1984David M. ChurchillGovernment Botanist of Victoria, Director of the Royal Botanic Gardens
1985- Jan.-June 1986Dr Grisha A. SklovskyManaging Director, Trans Knowledge Assoc. Pty Ltd
Jul. 1986 - Jun. 1987Dr Terence P. O'BrienReader in Botany, Monash University
Jul.-Dec. 1987Dr Grisha A. SklovskyManaging Director, Trans Knowledge Assoc. Pty Ltd
1988-1990Dr William R.S. BriggsDevelopment Director, Chisholm Institute of Technology
1991-1992Dr Graeme F. WatsonDepartment of Zoology, University of Melbourne
1993-1994Dr John W. ZillmanDirector, Commonwealth Bureau of Meteorology
1995-1996Dr Maxwell G. LayDirector, Roads Corporation Victoria
1997-1998Prof. Em. Herbert H. BolotinProfessor of Physics, University of Melbourne
1999-2001Assoc. Prof. Gordon D. SansonAssociate Professor of Zoology, Monash University
2001-2003Assoc. Prof. Neil W. ArchboldProfessor of Palaeontology, Deakin University

Previous Page Royal Society of Victoria Next Page

© Copyright of Australian Science and Technology Heritage Centre and The Royal Society of Victoria 2001
Published by Australian Science and Technology Heritage Centre, using the Web Academic Resource Publisher